The Inheritance: And Other Stories (Paperback)

$15.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 days from Our Distributor

Description


A treasure trove of tales from a master storyteller—the first to feature works written under both her pseudonyms, Robin Hobb and Megan Lindholm . . .

The Inheritance

Before she became an acclaimed New York Times bestselling author, Robin Hobb received resounding critical praise for work written under the name Megan Lindholm. Though they spring from the same imagination, Hobb and Lindholm are separate, diverse identities, each with her own unique style and perspective.

The Inheritance celebrates the boundless vision of Hobb and Lindholm, bringing together for the first time classic and new short works from both names. The collection is comprised of three generous offerings from Robin Hobb, including the title story, which makes its U.S. debut here, and a brand-new tale, "Cat's Meat." Megan Lindholm contributes her Hugo and Nebula Award finalist "A Touch of Lavender" and Nebula finalist "Silver Lady and the Fortyish Man," as well as several classic and new gems.

Each piece is prefaced by a brief yet informative author's note, offering insight into each story's genesis. Fascinating, compelling, and wonderfully entertaining, The Inheritance reveals the full spectrum of skill and talent of one of the world's finest fantasy writers.

About the Author


Robin Hobb was born in California but grew up in Alaska, where she learned to love the forest and the wilderness. She has lived most of her life in the Pacific Northwest and currently resides in Tacoma, Washington. She is the author of the Rain Wilds Chronicles, the Farseer Trilogy, the Liveship Traders Trilogy, the Tawny Man Trilogy, and the Soldier Son Trilogy. Her books under the pseudonym Megan Lindholm include Wizard of the Pigeons, The Windsingers, and Cloven Hooves. She is also the author of The Inheritance, a collection of stories written under both names. Her short fiction has won the Asimov's Readers' Award and has been a finalist for both the Nebula and Hugo awards.

Praise for The Inheritance: And Other Stories…


“At once harrowing, unexpected, and morally complex. . . . I’m eager to see what happens next.”
-Locus

“Displaying Hobb’s gift for creating unusual and compelling worlds, [Shaman’s Crossing] maintains her high standard of storytelling.”
-Library Journal

“Fast action, deep emotional bonds and a great ending...[I] encourage you to check out Dragon Haven.”
-Blogcritics.com

“FOREST MAGE presents a darker and more complex hero in Nevare . . .Ms. Hobb has given a lot of thought to her world and characters. Dark as they are, they stand out like jewels on velvet.”
-Romance Reviews Today

“[D]elicate, vivid language . . . [a] fine example of how to avoid a middle-book slump.”
-Booklist

“All [of the stories] are beautifully written parables, expressing a clear message but managing not to be too offensively preachy about it.…You don’t have to be a fan of either of the author’s identities to enjoy this collection—but you may become one.”
-Kirkus Reviews on THE INHERITANCE

“An engaging, entertaining introduction to both sides of the author’s work.”
-Booklist (starred review) on THE INHERITANCE

“Taken as a whole, the two voices represented here provide a richly textured body of work from one of the genre’s most accomplished writers. VERDICT Fans of both Lindholm and Hobb will appreciate the diversity of this one-woman showcase.”
-Library Journal on THE INHERITANCE

“A priceless reading experience.”
-Paul Goat Allen on THE INHERITANCE

“One author, two pseudonyms, and a wonderful collection of short stories…an exciting addition to the fantasy genre. Her stories are fresh and surprising as she weaves in subtle twists.”
-Portland Book Review on THE INHERITANCE

Product Details ISBN-10: 0061561649
ISBN-13: 9780061561641
Published: Harper Voyager
Pages: 400
Language: English